Clarify behavior of preview branches in documentation (#48744)

Update the description of preview branches to clarify that they are
automatically deleted when a PR is merged or closed.


<!-- This is an auto-generated comment: release notes by coderabbit.ai
-->
## Summary by CodeRabbit

- **Documentation**
- Clarified that preview branches are temporary and automatically
deleted when a pull request is merged or closed.
- Removed outdated guidance stating that preview branches pause after
inactivity.
- Clarified that persistent branches remain available long-term and are
not automatically paused or deleted due to inactivity or pull request
closure.
<!-- end of auto-generated comment: release notes by coderabbit.ai -->
This commit is contained in:
Han Qiao authored and GitHub committed 2026-08-11 22:44:31 +08:00
1 parent e846d45ce6
commit 433175e79a
1 file changed
+2 -2
@@ -12,8 +12,8 @@ Supabase branches create separate environments that spin off from your main proj
## How branching works
- **Separate Environments**: Each branch is a separate environment with its own Supabase instance and API credentials.
- **Preview Branches**: Preview branches are ephemeral and best suited for focused testing. They are automatically paused after inactivity or deleted when a PR is merged or closed.
- **Persistent Branches**: Persistent branches are long-lived and recommended for environments like staging, QA, or development. Unlike preview branches, they aren't automatically paused or deleted due to inactivity or when a PR is merged or closed.
- **Preview Branches**: Preview branches are ephemeral and best suited for focused testing. They are automatically deleted when a PR is merged or closed.
- **Persistent Branches**: Persistent branches are long-lived and recommended for environments like staging, QA, or development. They aren't automatically paused or deleted due to inactivity or when a PR is merged or closed.
- **Managing Branches**: You can create, review, and merge branches either automatically via our [GitHub integration](/docs/guides/deployment/branching/github-integration) or directly [through the dashboard](/docs/guides/deployment/branching/dashboard) (currently in beta). All branches show up in the branches page in the dashboard, regardless of how they were created.
- **Data-less**: New branches do not start with any data from your main project. This is meant to better protect your sensitive production data. To start your branches with data, you can use a [seed file](/docs/guides/deployment/branching/github-integration#seeding) if using the GitHub integration.